The negative thing about being a successful TV star

Glitter, fame, so much money. The world of TV offers lots of chances. It seems so very easy for everyone to make it big. You only have to act a little bit. And didn’t we all played a lot as kids? Wasn’t it great to pretend to be someone else, not only on Halloween? TV is what we all know and love. We wait for new episodes of our favorite shows, it feels like we actually know these characters. For some people these guys fill their entire lives and the world is only revolving in that TV show universe.

You can use a phone these days for way more than watching for favorite TV shows. pic by JD Hancock
You can use a phone these days for way more than watching your favorite TV shows.
pic by JD Hancock

Being a fan of ‘The Big Bang Theory’ since season 4, I got in touch with lots of fans. Normally I only watch a show, but this one was the first I googled. That connection between the fans is amazing. People all over the world talk about Sheldon, Leonard, Penny and their friends. And the fandom is still increasing. Sure, the internet is something that helps to make the show even more popular and it is a show mostly watched by teens. At least they have the time to spread the word on the internet, comment the most, create fan account, etc.

I realize it every time I spend a few minutes on Twitter or Instagram. I don’t have that time to be 24/7 online, but to me it seems lots of people are only waiting for their star to post something, so they can be the first to like, comment or reshare. So it happens that I see a picture Jim Parsons posted on his IG at least 3 times in my timeline. Reshared at least 2 times by fans. Honestly, it’s okay to retweet or repost a picture from time to time, but many never create own content.

I only ‘like’ the original post, and only if I really like it and not because I like the person that this guy plays in my favorite sitcom. But that is just how kids are. And sometimes even some older people. And there we are: the negative aspect of being a successful TV star. People think they know you, when all they see is your character. And they think it’s their right to know every single detail about your life and share this with the world. Not only they reshare your pictures, but they try to find private ones and share them too. You lost control over your own privacy – not to forget the rumors which are spread easily over the internet.

I never cared about any celebrities, and still I don’t. I care about the people I have in my life, and who want me to have in theirs. Jim might be the only exception but I don’t wait till he posts anything. Mostly I see his pictures days later, then I decide if I comment, like or do nothing. And I stopped to google him, why would I? Isn’t it creepy what the internet makes possible? Isn’t it creepy that strangers can figure out everything about you and think that is okay because you are a celebrity?

There are two kind of TV stars: the ones with talent and the ones who have to sell themselves.

I prefer the ones with talent, with passion for their job. When someone is money-focused, this person will never be happy and always be lonely. Money and fame might be good, but only the moments we share with our loved ones can’t be taken away. These moments will last forever in our memory. That is what matters!!

Money and fame always come along with jealousy. Like when there was the big discussion about the Big Bang cast wanting $ 1 Million per episode. I had to write a post about that too. I didn’t get all the attention. But overall, it’s the proof that it’s better to not talk about money. We all want a lot, but don’t want others to have more than we do. We don’t see their hard work (Big Bang wasn’t a big hit when it started, they did the pilot twice, then there was the writer’s strike, etc.) They all work hard, and who knows how much they will get when one day the show will be over? And spoiler: this will happen one day!

Sure they have to take as much as possible. We all would do it that way. And they don’t get the money for ‘only’ 20 minutes. They work more than that. They give up most of their privacy. Others waste their time being 24/7 online, freaking out when they are not the first to get the news. Keep calm! These guys on TV are just people like you and me. Treat them like you wanna be treated, write them what you wanna read. And imagine how many mails, comments they get. Is it neccessary to only comment ‘hi’? Or to tag a person 10 times per day? I think this will make it even less likely your star to notice you.

Oh and before you now wanna write me that I might be not a real fan or that post is complete crap – don’t comment anything. That is my point of view. And I think there is a difference between a fan and an addict, which is someone who can’t spend a single day without internet. It’s good to get in touch with other fans and even our favorite stars, but don’t forget your real friends and family. Because a TV show is just that: a show that cheers up our lives. Not accusing anyone, just saying.

Be a fan and be polite!

Published by Sanny Spear

I'm a writer with a bachelor's degree in PR, Communication and Media Management. I love creating my own stories, and sharing my thoughts and poems on my Wordpress. Writing is a continuous journey, which I enjoy as much as traveling, seeing different places and getting in touch with people all over the world.