Back from digital detox

Sometimes it is necessary to take a break. A break to think, a break to get new ideas, a break to just get some distance for a while. Studies have proven that you are more focused on what you do, when from now and then you distract yourself from things you do often. So I decided to take a short break from social media. 
That’s why I posted so very less lately. I love to get in touch with many people from all over the world. I love to share what’s going on in my mind. But at one point I felt that the virtual me was taking over. It felt that the real me wasn’t that much existing anymore as I spent too many hours in front of my devices. So I made a decision to take a few weeks off. A few weeks without writing a blog post. I wasn’t using Instagram and Google+ for one month and barely tweeted.

Being online all the time can make you feel like being in a matrix. – picture by OiMax

It’s not that I don’t like it anymore. But I don’t wanna forget that there is also a real life. The first few days were like an actual detox – I felt that something was missing, that I might not be the first one getting a news or something. But the longer I stayed offline, the more I noticed that there were lots of things that I missed – not online but in my real life. I haven’t seen some of my friends in months and I can’t describe how awesome it felt spending time with them again. My great-aunt turned 90 years last month and I was able to see her again and also some family members I haven’t seen in years. I spent time with my best friend’s little daughter who turned 4, and my cousin who visited me with her little son from Crete.
Now I am back, posting once a week, tweeting and IG twice a week. I do think it might be the best for me to have some “social media days”. I do have some projects going on, of which I will soon write about. Because I also took the time to think of new stuff, and there are many things I currently have in mind. So it was really like a vacation – not from work, I didn’t travel much, but it was different to my average every day life. And as good as the time off felt, I am glad social media exists and I don’t wanna live completely without it anymore.

Have you ever taken a break from social media or thought about it? How do you manage it? Do you also have “social media days or hours” or do you think it’s important to be online all the time?

Leave a Reply

